top of page

How to Prepare for Your Newborn Session | New London County, CT | Natural Newborn Photographer

Read on for how you can prepare and what you can expect from your newborn session with me!

What to Expect

My newborn sessions are relaxed and free flowing with a focus on simplicity, connection and storytelling! Since my central focus is documenting your personal story (lifestyle photography), in these sessions with your newest addition, I strive to capture photographs that convey all the emotions involved in welcoming a newborn into the world, your interactions with your new baby and the rest of your family, and all the tiny little details that are so significant to this time period, so unique to each individual babe, and so quickly changing!

AN AT HOME NEWBORN SESSION

All DVP newborn sessions takes place at your home. Whether that's a lifestyle session, or a studio style (more about those here), you'll be able to get all your photos of your new addition right from the comfort of your home.

When I first arrive, I generally ask for a tour of your home. We will chat, go over the details you'd like me to capture for your session, meet your new addition and take some time to make friends with your other children (if applicable). I'll get familiar with your space, the light in your home, and I'll discuss my plan for your session. At every newborn session, I follow the baby's lead leaving lots of time of breaks to change baby's diaper (newborns poop...a lot...so I like to leave lots of time for this!), feeding breaks, and fussy breaks too. I have a loose order in which I shoot, but I keep that completely flexible depending on feed times, cuddle breaks, and toddlers being toddlers. I give direction and guidance to a point, such as positioning you in the best light, asking you to look at each other, look at your baby, think about certain moments, or provide you with some conversational prompts to elicit those emotions of love and joy surrounding this stage in your life. Mostly I am creating a space and opportunities for connections to happen naturally. We usually focus our time in the master bedroom, nursery and the main living area. If your session takes place during the warmer seasons, and the weather cooperates, we can also take some portraits in your backyard, or porch. If your home doesn't have a whole lot of natural light or windows, that's ok too! I have some great quality lighting equipment I can bring with me to enhance what's there. Just be sure to reach out and express this concern beforehand so I can come prepared.

Wondering how to prepare your home for your session? It's important to declutter, but don't stress! I love "lived-in" homes, and photographing you in your natural element is part of the charm of Lifestyle Photography. You don't want to go overboard cleaning prior to your session. We both know you're not going to have the time, and much less likely the energy to go nuts dusting or vacuuming. Focus on clearing the areas I mentioned above, so you don't have anything too distracting in your images. Putting toddler toys away in baskets or buckets, tidying books into piles, hiding tissue boxes and phone chargers, etc. are all great ways to reduce clutter in your photos. The main spaces I generally shoot in during a session are the master bedroom, the nursery and the main living area so these are the areas you should focus on when preparing for your session. Again, if you need some guidance you are more than welcome to send me through some images of your spaces for advice before your session.

Your in-home lifestyle newborn session will generally be about 1.5 - 2 hours in length. One of the great things about these baby sessions is that we can photograph your new addition anytime in their first few weeks. If you really want photos of your sweet, new baby asleep and dreamy, then it's best to do your session within the first 7-14 days. If you're happy with more awake, interactive images of your new baby, a session can take place anytime in the first 4-6 weeks.


What to Wear

This is where almost every client seeks guidance. So if you're struggling and stressing over what to wear, you're not alone. And that's what I'm here for, so don't sweat it any further!


I offer a full styling service for all my clients, which includes access to my client closet, and a platform where you can design your outfits and pull inspiration from suggested items. In general, I recommend neutral clothing, or maybe some lighter tones with pops of color, and textures, but most importantly, comfortable! I love bright, airy, whites, grays, with some subtle pops of color (a light flowy dress with a flower pattern, or a loose-fitting light colored shirt with some light jeans) and simplicity when it comes to newborn photography. I suggest coordinating over matching your outfits. For baby, you are free to have a few outfit options to use throughout the session, though I will also provide several wraps and accessories to choose from. You may consider a simple swaddle, an outfit with some amazing prints, texture or color, or a cute head piece (bonnet, headband, bow). Your session needs to represent you and your family as honestly as possible. Before your session, feel free to send me photos and ideas and I will be happy to give you wardrobe advice.

For further inspiration, take a peek at my pinterest board for more wardrobe ideas: dacia vu photography.

Investment

I currently charge $295 for my newborn session fee. (Subscribe here for more info on digital and print pricing) I require a portion of your session fee in advance as a deposit to hold your date. The balance will be due prior to your scheduled session date. While I mostly serve Eastern Connecticut and Rhode Island, I also travel to the surrounding areas for in home newborn sessions. Any location outside a 40 mile radius of Preston, Connecticut will incur a small travel fee.

Delivery

Once we've finished your session, I will sort through all of the images and choose to edit all the very best ones. I love to give you the images where there are beautiful expressions, and priceless moments captured. While I do not edit or share every image from our session, I do strive to deliver the best photo(s) of each pose.


I will aim to have your photos edited and ready within two weeks of your session. We will schedule a viewing and ordering appointment within that time-frame, where you can choose your images and any Art Collections you'd like to purchase. You will receive a print release for any digital files purchased, which allows for unlimited printing at any consumer lab you choose.I also offer professional printing services and a list of recommended consumer labs for those quality conscientious clients.

Thank you for taking the time to read through the details of my newborn sessions. I look forward to connecting with you and discussing your vision for documenting this special time in your lives!

Now that you know a little more about what it's like to work with me, I'd love to hear from you! Feel free to reach out and contact me for further details, with any questions you'd like answered, or to book a session!

I'm participating in a blog circle with some other really talented artists and photographers! Click the link to check out some Family Photography in Gwinnett County by the amazing and talented photographer, Amanda.

Follow Me
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page